Thank you…

One of my greatest joys as a teacher is receiving compliments from my former students.  Those who pursue a life in academics do not do so for fame, wealth, or selfish reasons–teaching is a profession dedicated to the betterment of others, of the next generation.   I received my PhD in history from AU a few years ago and I will always be indebted to Bob for his knowledge, generosity, guidance, and, most of all, for his friendship.  Bob was a kind soul who inspired the best from those he taught.  I hope that in some small way I will impart to my students the wisdom, care, and compassion Bob showed to me and undoubtedly countless others.   As one accustomed to using words, I am at a loss to describe my debt to so many, including Bob, who have helped me become the teacher and the person that I am today.  Dr. Griffith, Bob, guided me through what is perhaps the toughest phase of the PhD program, the ABD period.  Bob’s support and compassion were vital as one of my committee members, mentor, colleague, and friend.  Thank you !!! May God’s peace be with you Bob.  My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Media

Leave a Reply

